Academic calendar

Academic year & teaching periods



October 1 to September 27


Teaching period
October 1 to January 25
Winter examination period
(no classes)
January 28 to February 22

Teaching period
February 25 to June 7

Summer examination period
(no classes)
June 10 to July 12

IMPORTANT: The faculties and academies of the University of Zagreb operate within distinct academic calendars and therefore there might be differences (2-3 weeks) in the beginning/ending of a semester. For exact information please contact directly Faculty/Academy of the University you will visit.

National Holidays

January 1 New Year’s Day
January 6 Three Kings Day
Easter and the day after Easter Sunday and Monday
May 1 Labour Day
60 days after Easter Corpus Christi
June 22 Anti-Fascist Struggle Day
June 25 Day of Croatia Statehood
August 5 Victory and Homeland Thanksgiving Day
August 15 Assumption of Mary
October 8 Independence Day
November 1 All Saint’s Day
December 25 and 26 Christmas (University Christmas holidays 25.12.-6.1.)