Erasmus+ inter-institutional agreements


In the 2014-2020 there is a start of the new EU programme for education, training, youth and sport called "Erasmus+". "Erasmus+" will cover the period 2014-2020 and replaces seven existing programmes, including the Lifelong Learning programme (LLP) which will end with the academic year 2013-2014.

The basis to be able to start successful Erasmus mobility activities (required for student mobility for studies and staff mobility for teaching) is the prior signing of inter-institutional agreements between institutions which are holders of the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education.

The Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) provides the general quality framework for European and international cooperation activities a higher education institution (HEI) may carry out within the Programme. The award of an Erasmus Charter for Higher Education is a pre-requisite for all HEIs located in an eligible country and willing to participate in learning mobility of individuals and/or cooperation for innovation and good practices under the Programme. For HEIs located in other countries, the ECHE is not required, and the quality framework will be established through inter-institutional agreements between HEIs. The Charter is awarded for the full duration of the Programme.


In December 2013 European Commission awarded the University of Zagreb with the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education for the whole period of the Erasmus+ programme.

Name of the institution: Sveučilište u Zagrebu (University of Zagreb)
Erasmus code: HR ZAGREB01
ECHE: 255154-EPP-1-2014-1-HR-EPPKA3-1-ECHE
Erasmus Policy Statement

PIC number (University): 999933231

The University has an individual PIC number; however, by approval of the European Commission, our faculties/academies can apply for some projects independently and for this purpose can obtain an autonomous PIC number (different from the University).


Erasmus+ inter-institutional agreements are agreed and signed with a particular Faculty/Academy of the University. University of Zagreb has 30 Faculties, 3 Academies and 1 University Department for Croatian Studies. Contact list for Erasmus+ inter-institutional agreements at the Faculties/Academies of the University of Zagreb.

Template for the inter-institutional agreements 2017 (Subject area codes ISCED 2013)

Erasmus+ INFORMATION SHEET for partners 2019

All inter-institutional agreements with the University of Zagreb are signed at least one (1) year in advance for the next academic year. Deadline: 1 November 201X (valid for the academic year 201X+1 )
The deadline for 2019/20 has expired. New agreements can now be signed for the year 2020/21.

Central IRO office contact:
Ida Ogulinac (Ms), Institutional Erasmus Coordinator
International Relations Office
University of Zagreb


Erasmus+ inter-institutional agreements are arranged at the central level by the partner HEI and the IRO office University of Zagreb and in coordination with the faculties / art academies of the UNIZG. The list of partners in Erasmus+ KA107 can be found on the following UNIZG page - link.

The Erasmus+ inter-institutional agreement need to be signed prior to the mobility start

Central IRO office project coordinator:

Željka Pitner (Ms), Coordinator
International Relations Office
University of Zagreb